CPAWS SAB CHAPTER Annual General Meeting Minutes September 19, 2017

Conference Call

Attendance: A quorum of 10 members was present as required by the organization's bylaws and as such the annual general meeting was duly constituted.

1. Introduction and welcome:

Gord James, the current Board of Directors chairperson acted as the chair of the meeting which was called to order at 7:00 pm. Participants on the call were welcomed. It was noted that this year's annual general meeting is a conference call format to recognize that the chapter's 50th anniversary GALA was planned for September 22 and it was felt that two major events would stretch the capacity of the chapter staff.

It was noted by Gord James that there were two proxies for his daughters who were unable to attend the meeting and had delegated their voting authority to him for this meeting. Anne-Marie Syslak has a copy of the proxies for the AGM file.

2. Review and approval of minutes of 2016 AGM

G. James noted that the 2016 AGM minutes on the chapter's website incorrectly showed the year as 2019 when it should have read 2016.

Motion: Move to accept the minutes of the Annual General Meeting of September 29, 2016. Motioned by Walter Syslak Seconded by Bob Morgan. All in favour, none opposed. Carried.

3. **Financial Presentation.** Jim Donohue presented the audited financial statements for the year ended March 31, 2017.

Motion: That the audited financial statements of Canadian Parks and Wilderness Society Southern Alberta Chapter for the year ended March 31, 2017 be approved as presented. Moved by Jim Donohue seconded by Andre De Leebeeck All in favour, none opposed. Motion carried.

4. Appointment of Auditors for 2018

Motion: That Buchanan Barry LLP is appointed the auditors of Canadian Parks and Wilderness Society Southern Alberta Chapter for the year ending March 31, 2018. Moved by Jim Donohue, seconded by Walter Syslak. All in favour none opposed. Motion carried.

5. Election of Board of Directors for 2017/2018

Board nominees standing for re-election/election: Jim Donohue, Doug Firby, Andre De Leebeeck, Jon Mee, Phil Nykyforuk, Megan Leung, Peter Kloiber, Sara Jaremko, Cinthia Nemoto, Kathi Irvine, Jeff Goldberg, Ross Glenfield, Steve Hrudey

Motion: That the presented slate of Board of Directors be accepted as the Directors for the Canadian Parks and Wilderness Society Southern Alberta Chapter for the coming year. Moved by Gord James, seconded by Jessica James. All in favour, none opposed. Motion carried

Phil Nykyforuk asked that the minutes reflect the contributions of Gord James as a volunteer Board member and chair and the gratitude of the newly elected Board.

There being no further business the annual general meeting adjourned at 7:15 pm