CPAWS Southern Alberta Chapter Annual General Meeting Minutes September 30, 2021

Zoom Conference Call

Attendance: The Chapter's Bylaws indicate that a quorum of 10 members must be present at the Annual General Meeting. Attendance was taken and the members present met the number necessary for a quorum. As such, the Annual General Meeting was duly constituted. Attendees:

- 1. John Mee (proxy vote)
- 2. James Early
- 3. Lana Mezquita (proxy vote)
- 4. Phil Nykyforuk (proxy vote)
- 5. Kirsty MacKenzie (proxy vote)
- 6. Nancy Phillips
- 7. Ross Glenfield
- 8. Brad Clute
- 9. Hira Shah
- 10. Tatiana Jaciw-Zurakiwsky

1. Introductions and welcome:

John Mee, the current Board of Directors chairperson, acted as the chair of the meeting which was called to order at 8:04 pm. He started the meeting with a land acknowledgement and recognized that today was the National Day for Truth and Reconciliation. John acknowledged the history of the land, Treaty 7, as well as the history of residential schools in Alberta. He reported on the chapter's creation of a Decolonization and Truth and Reconciliation Task Force and discussed the importance of the efforts we must all make in the journey towards reconciliation.

2. Review and approval of the minutes of the 2020 AGM

Motion: To accept the minutes of the Annual General Meeting of September 16, 2020. Moved by John Mee, Seconded by Phil Nykyforuk. All in favour, none opposed. Carried.

3. **Approval of 2021 Financial Statements.** John Mee presented the audited financial statements for the year ended March 21, 2021.

Motion: That the audited financial statements of the Canadian Parks and Wilderness Society Southern Alberta Chapter for the year ended March 31, 2021 be approved as

presented. Moved by John Mee, Seconded by James Early. All in favour, none opposed. Carried.

4. Appointment of Auditors for 2022

Motion: That Buchanan Barry LLP is appointed the auditors of the Canadian Parks and Wilderness Society Southern Alberta Chapter for the year ending March 31, 2022. Moved by John Mee, Seconded by James Early. All in favour, none opposed. Carried.

5. Financial Update

John Mee provided an overview of the chapter's financial outlook. He noted that solid funding will allow the chapter to maintain staffing and a high-quality delivery of its programs. He noted that the chapter is likely to see a drop in corporate and foundation funding due to COVID-19 impacts. It will be necessary to maintain funding based on individual donors moving forward into the future. However, the chapter has been leveraging analytics and targeting funding — which will be an asset moving forward.

Brad Clute presented highlights from the last year. He noted the challenges that the chapter faced in this last year, including the COVID-19 pandemic and government policy changes. He provided an overview of the achievements of the chapter including the Defend Alberta Parks campaign, Albertans for a Coal Free Rockies campaign, and the increased program delivery through the education team. Brad highlighted the chapters success in shifting its narrative through its communication efforts, thus increasing engagement with the chapter, especially with a younger demographic. He discussed the chapters motivation to strengthen partnerships and collaborations on work, especially with CPAWS Northern Alberta and other CPAWS chapters. No questions for the financial outlook.

John Mee thanked Brad for the presentation and for reminding us all of the great achievements of the chapter.

6. Election of Board of Directors for 2021/2022

Board nominees standing for re-election: Jim Donohue, Doug Firby, Ross Glenfield, Nancy Phillips, Jon Mee, Phil Nykyforuk, James Early, Lana Mezquita and Kirsty Mackenzie

John Mee noted that we have 9 nominees for the Board of Directors.

Motion: That the presented slate of Directors be accepted as the Directors for the Canadian Parks and Wilderness Society Southern Alberta Chapter for the coming year. Moved by John Mee, Seconded by Phil Nykyforuk. All in favour, none opposed. Carried.

7. Other Business

Motion that there being no further business, the Annual General Meeting be adjourned at 8:48 pm. Moved by John Mee, Seconded by Kristy MacKenzie. All in favour, no opposed. Carried.

Jon Mee concluded the 2021 AGM.