CPAWS Southern Alberta Chapter Annual General Meeting Minutes September 19, 2023 By Zoom Conference Call

Attendance: The Chapter's Bylaws indicate that a quorum of 10 members must be present at the Annual General Meeting. Attendance was taken and the members present met the number necessary for a quorum. As such, the Annual General Meeting was duly constituted.

1. Land Acknowledgment Given by Jon Mee.

2. Review and approval of the minutes of the 2022 AGM

Motion: To accept the minutes of the Annual General Meeting of September 19, 2022.

Moved by Phil Nykyforuk, seconded by Doug Firby

Discussion: Gord James suggested that the word "allocation" in the revised motion on the approval of 2022 Financial Statements should be replaced with the word "recognition". Thus, the motion would read as follows:

Revised Motion: That the audited financial statements of the Canadian Parks and Wilderness Society Southern Alberta Chapter for the year ended March 31, 2022 be approved as presented, subject to a discussion with the Auditor regarding the allocation recognition of casino monies in those financial statements.

With this change recorded, the motion was carried unanimously.

3. Approval of the 2023 Financial Statements

Lana Mezquita presented the audited financial statements for the year ended March 31, 2023.

Motion: That the audited financial statements of the Canadian Parks and Wilderness Society Southern Alberta Chapter for the year ended March 31, 2023 be approved as presented.

Moved by Gord James, seconded Orrie Bliss.

Discussion: Ms Mezquita responded to a question about the risk statements in the audited financials by noting that CPAWS (SAB) had been able to maintain the support of donors and contracting partners notwithstanding the downturn in the economy.

Motion as presented carried unanimously.

4. Financial Update

Lana Mezquita provided an overview of CPAWS-SAB's financial outlook though to July 2023.

5. Appointment of Auditors for 2023

Motion: That Buchanan Barry LLP is appointed the auditors of the Canadian Parks and Wilderness Society Southern Alberta Chapter for the year ending March 31, 2024.

Moved by Nigel Bankes, seconded by Gord James. All in favour. Carried.

6. Year In Review

Presentation by Katie Morrison, Executive Director.

Ms Morrison commenced with the recognition that we have exceptional staff and then highlighted some challenges and accomplishments during the past year. Topics included: the challenges associated with the provincial government's decision to split jurisdiction for parks; co-hosting of a non-partisan forum during the election; the ongoing coal debate; the importance of land use planning; irrigation expansion; species at risk and the importance of healthy trout populations as an indicator species; forest management and cumulative effects. Ms Morrison also emphasized the importance of the Chapter's education program and engaging with and inspiring youth.

Ms Morrison responded to two questions. The first dealt with whether the Chapter had experienced any difference between the Kenney and Smith governments with respect to engagement on the environment. Ms Morison observed that it was early days but that the Chapter would be seeking to develop relationships with new Ministers and officials. Ms Morrison responded to a second question about trail development by emphasizing the importance of ensuring proper land use planning before developing new trails

7. Election of Board of Directors for 2023/2024

Board nominees standing for re-election: Jon Mee, Phil Nykyforuk, Doug Firby, Lana Mezquita, Nigel Bankes, and Elliot Fox.

Board nominees standing for election: Nicole Edge and Connie Van der Byl.

Jon Mee noted that bios for all nominees had been made available.

Motion: That the presented slate of Directors be accepted as the Directors for the Canadian Parks and Wilderness Society Southern Alberta Chapter for the coming year.

Moved by Phil Nykyforuk, seconded by Gord James. All in favour. Carried.

8. Other Business

None brought forward.

Motion: that there being no further business, the Annual General Meeting be adjourned (8:03pm).

Moved by Jon Mee, seconded by Lana Mezquita. Carried.